Stuetzle, No. 3 pick in 2020 Draft by Senators, named to Germany WJC team


Tim Stuetzle, chosen by the Ottawa Senators with the No. 3 pick in the 2020 NHL Draft, is one of 27 players named to Germany for the 2021 IIHF World Junior Championship.

The tournament is scheduled for Dec. 25-Jan. 5 at Rogers Place in Edmonton. No fans are permitted to attend.

Stuetzle had surgery Oct. 15 for an arm injury sustained while training with Mannheim of the Deutsche Eishockey Liga, the top professional league in Germany, and recovery time was expected to be 6-8 weeks. Senators owner Eugene Melnyk told The Bob McCown Podcast on Sunday that he is encouraged by Stuetzle’s progress.

The 18-year-old left wing had five assists in five games for Germany at the 2020 WJC.

Two other players selected in the 2020 Draft will return from the 2020 WJC, forwards Lukas Reichel and John-Jason Peterka.

Reichel, chosen by the Chicago Blackhawks with the No. 17 pick, scored five points (three goals, two assists) in seven games at the tournament last year.

Peterka, a second-round selection (No. 34) by the Buffalo Sabres, scored six points (four goals, two assists).

Defenseman Moritz Seider, who had six assists in seven games and was Germany’s captain at the 2020 WJC, is eligible for the tournament but was not released by the Detroit Red Wings. The No. 6 pick in the 2019 NHL Draft is playing for Rogle in the Swedish Hockey League.

Germany is scheduled to play in Group A in the preliminary round, starting with a game against Finland on Dec. 25, and against Canada (Dec. 26), Slovakia (Dec. 28) and Switzerland (Dec. 30).

Group B consists of Russia, Sweden, the United States, the Czech Republic and Austria.



GOALIES: Tobias Ancicka, Eisbaren Berlin, GER (2021 draft eligible); Florian Bugl, RB Hockey Akademia, CZREP-JR (2021 draft eligible); Arno Tiefensee, Mannheim Jr., GER-JR (2021 draft eligible)

DEFENSEMEN: Lucas Flade, Dresden, GER-2 (2021 draft eligible); Maximillian Glotzl, Koln, GER (2021 draft eligible); Simon Gnyp, Koln, GER (2021 draft eligible); Niklas Langer, Augsburg, GER (2021 draft eligible); Luca Munzenberger, Koln Jr., GER-JR (2021 draft eligible); Tommy Pasanen, Clarkson, ECAC (2021 draft eligible); Steven Raabe, Wolfsburg, GER (2021 draft eligible); Maksymilian Szuber, RB Hockey Akademia, CZREP-JR (2021 draft eligible); Mario Zimmermann, Landshut, GER-2 (2021 draft eligible)

FORWARDS: Manuel Alberg, Des Moines, USHL (2021 draft eligible); Jakub Bozecki, RB Hockey Akademia, CZREP-JR (2021 draft eligible); Julian Chrobot, Koln, GER (2021 draft eligible); Samuel Dube, RB Hockey Akademia, CZREP-JR (2021 draft eligible); Florian Elias, Mannheim, GER (2021 draft eligible); Nino Kinder, Winnipeg, WHL (2021 draft eligible); Elias Lindner, RB Hockey Akademia, CZREP-JR (2021 draft eligible); Jan Nijenhuis, Wolfsburg, GER (2021 draft eligible); John-Jason Peterka, Munchen, GER (Buffalo Sabres); Lukas Reichel, Eisbaren Berlin, GER (Chicago Blackhawks); Filip Reisnecker, Bremerhaven, GER (2021 draft eligible); Joshua Samanski, Owen Sound, OHL (2021 draft eligible); Markus Schweiger, Kaufbeuren, GER-2 (2021 draft eligible); Tim Stuetzle, Mannheim, GER (Ottawa Senators); Justin Volek, Ravensburg, GER-2 (2021 draft eligible)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top