Hockey Hall of Fame delays 2020 inductions to November 2021


The Hockey Hall of Fame will delay honoring its six-member Class of 2020 until November 2021 and will not hold elections for new members next year.

In June, the Hall elected Marian Hossa, Jarome Iginla, Kevin Lowe, Doug Wilson and Kim St-Pierre in the Players category, and Ken Holland in the Builders category. On Aug. 10, the Hall announced that the 2020 Induction Weekend/Celebration, scheduled for Nov. 13-16 in Toronto, had been officially postponed because of the coronavirus.

“The magic of the induction weekend from the perspective of the new inductees is participating in several days of close interaction with family, friends, former teammates, fellow legends and fans,” chairman Lanny McDonald said Friday. “On that premise, the board felt that this was the right decision to bestow upon the Class of 2020 the recognition and lifetime experience they so richly deserve in all ways consistent with past induction classes.”

The Hall also re-appointed David Branch, Brian Burke, Marc de Foy, Mike Gartner, Anders Hedberg and Pierre McGuire to the Selection Committee. Each will serve a three-year term that expires Dec. 31, 2024.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top